I am, quite openly, cricket mad!! No sport compares, money has not ruined it and the sport itself is open to all, regardless of class or gender! True enough, there was a time when cricket was an elitist sport played by 'gentleman', but that time has now passed!
The English game is currently very strong, being an ECB Level 2 coach - I observe 100+ children playing cricket every Sunday morning; I know that this is the case all over the country. The English game should be very strong in 10 years time!!
Cricket for me, is a true test of sporting ability; concentration, patience & skill are all required to be successful, as someone who plays cricket myself, I get by with decent concentration, some patience (usually used up in my classroom) and a small amount of skill! Hand eye co-ordination has always been good, so I can throw, catch, field and bowl effectively!
So why the lack of interest from the vast majority of the country?
"I don't understand the rules!"
"It's boring!"
"It's complicated!"
These are the 3 main excuses/reasons for not understanding the beautiful game!!
Personally, for those who are new to the game, watch a game of T20 on SKY!
The game lasts 3 hours maximum, the commentators explain the game in great depth and there is now more exciting form of the game (Well, unless like me, you're a traditionalist who loves the 5 day test match!)
People have asked what I'm doing with my summer break; going abroad? Camping?
My answer was simple...
"I'll be watching cricket, either live or on TV, if I'm not watching I'll be playing or coaching!"
No comments:
Post a Comment