So the venue is Trent Bridge, home of Nottinghamshire CC.
Just nine days ago, Stuart Broad took 8 for 52 against Warwickshire in their 2nd innings, finishing with match figures of 11 for 131!
For me, Broad is one of England's true stars, not just at the moment, but also for years to come; he is unique in the fact that he has learnt his trade whilst playing International cricket! Most of our current players; Collingwood, Strauss, Pietersen, Prior, Bell & Swann all spent years on the county circuit learning their trade - batting on 'puddings' and bowling on 'roads'. But the likes of Anderson, Cook and the previously mentioned Broad, were introduced to International cricket from a young age.
Broad has been open to criticism in the past for experimenting when bowling and not fulfilling his potential with the bat - but again, this lad has learnt his game against some of the world's finest ever players:
Ponting, Tendulkar, Dravid, Murali, Sangakarra, Jayawardene etc
These are cricketers who will feature in the top Test and ODI averages when they retire!
So my question is:
Does this make Stuart Broad an outstanding or average cricketer?
Broad averages 25 with the bat in tests and 36 with the ball.
Compare this to Andrew Flintoff:
Test Average of 31 with the bat and 32 ball!
These averages aren't that dis-similar - will Broad be regarded in the same way Freddie Flintoff was?
Wednesday, 28 July 2010
T20 Madness...
It's my least favourite form of the game, yet I was glued to last night's quarter final between Somerset and Northants! Obviously, the pull of the cidermen was too strong and being a somerset-boy, I had to cheer on the lads! For young children watching, there wasn't much in the way of 'textbook' running between the wickets, but when it came to run outs, it was much more impressive! Northants were never in the game, 112 at Taunton was NEVER going to be enough; but when Trescothick was out early, I had visions of a 'Chard Collapse' but thanks to some lust blows from both Keiswetter & Trego, the Sabres were never in trouble!
So its now to Finals day at Hampshire's Rose Bowl - a whole day of T20 cricket (2 x semi-finals and the final). Somerset, Essex, Notts & Hampshire will all be in action, Essex & Somerset for me are the stand-out sides but you can never tell!!
Enough of T20 cricket - the proper stuff starts tomorrow; England vs Pakistan at Trent Bridge...
So its now to Finals day at Hampshire's Rose Bowl - a whole day of T20 cricket (2 x semi-finals and the final). Somerset, Essex, Notts & Hampshire will all be in action, Essex & Somerset for me are the stand-out sides but you can never tell!!
Enough of T20 cricket - the proper stuff starts tomorrow; England vs Pakistan at Trent Bridge...
Friday, 23 July 2010
Cricket...
I am, quite openly, cricket mad!! No sport compares, money has not ruined it and the sport itself is open to all, regardless of class or gender! True enough, there was a time when cricket was an elitist sport played by 'gentleman', but that time has now passed!
The English game is currently very strong, being an ECB Level 2 coach - I observe 100+ children playing cricket every Sunday morning; I know that this is the case all over the country. The English game should be very strong in 10 years time!!
Cricket for me, is a true test of sporting ability; concentration, patience & skill are all required to be successful, as someone who plays cricket myself, I get by with decent concentration, some patience (usually used up in my classroom) and a small amount of skill! Hand eye co-ordination has always been good, so I can throw, catch, field and bowl effectively!
So why the lack of interest from the vast majority of the country?
"I don't understand the rules!"
"It's boring!"
"It's complicated!"
These are the 3 main excuses/reasons for not understanding the beautiful game!!
Personally, for those who are new to the game, watch a game of T20 on SKY!
The game lasts 3 hours maximum, the commentators explain the game in great depth and there is now more exciting form of the game (Well, unless like me, you're a traditionalist who loves the 5 day test match!)
People have asked what I'm doing with my summer break; going abroad? Camping?
My answer was simple...
"I'll be watching cricket, either live or on TV, if I'm not watching I'll be playing or coaching!"
The English game is currently very strong, being an ECB Level 2 coach - I observe 100+ children playing cricket every Sunday morning; I know that this is the case all over the country. The English game should be very strong in 10 years time!!
Cricket for me, is a true test of sporting ability; concentration, patience & skill are all required to be successful, as someone who plays cricket myself, I get by with decent concentration, some patience (usually used up in my classroom) and a small amount of skill! Hand eye co-ordination has always been good, so I can throw, catch, field and bowl effectively!
So why the lack of interest from the vast majority of the country?
"I don't understand the rules!"
"It's boring!"
"It's complicated!"
These are the 3 main excuses/reasons for not understanding the beautiful game!!
Personally, for those who are new to the game, watch a game of T20 on SKY!
The game lasts 3 hours maximum, the commentators explain the game in great depth and there is now more exciting form of the game (Well, unless like me, you're a traditionalist who loves the 5 day test match!)
People have asked what I'm doing with my summer break; going abroad? Camping?
My answer was simple...
"I'll be watching cricket, either live or on TV, if I'm not watching I'll be playing or coaching!"
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)